i would like question number 5 and 6 to be answered, thess are the ones I’ve been having trouble with. Thank you.
Feather Friends, Inc., distributes a high-quality wooden birdhouse that sells for $120 per unit. Variable expenses are $60.00 per unit, and fixed expenses total $180,000 per year. Required: Answer the following independent questions: 1. What is the product’s CM ratio? 2. Use the CM ratio to determine the break-even point in dollar sales. 3. Due to an increase in demand, the company estimates that sales will increase by $59,000 during the next year. By how much should net operating income increase (or net loss decrease) assuming that fixed expenses do not change? 4. Assume that the operating results for last year were: Sales $ 3,360,000 Variable expenses 1,680,000 Contribution margin 1,680,000 Fixed expenses 180,000 Net operating income $ 1,500,000 a. Compute the degree of operating leverage at the current level of sales. (Round your answer to 2 decimal places.) b. The president expects sales to increase by 18% next year. By what percentage should net operating income increase? (Round intermediate calculations to 2 decimal places and final answer to the nearest percentage.) 5. Refer to the original data. Assume that the company sold 31,500 units last year. The sales manager is convinced that a 11% reduction in the selling price, combined with a $76,000 increase in advertising, would increase annual unit sales by 50%. a. Prepare two contribution format income statements, one showing the results of last year’s operations and one showing the results of operations if these changes are made. (Do not round intermediate calculations. Round your “Per unit” answers to 2 decimal places.) b. Would you recommend that the company do as the sales manager suggests? No Yes 6. Refer to the original data. Assume again that the company sold 31,500 units last year. The president does not want to change the selling price. Instead, he wants to increase the sales commission by $2.30 per unit. He thinks that this move, combined with some increase in advertising, would double annual unit sales. By how much could advertising be increased with profits remaining unchanged? Do not prepare an income statement; use the incremental analysis approach.
5 b. The company should pursue the manager’s strategy since the operating profit is increasing.